Richard’s at door of disc Dreamland (The West Briton and Royal Cornish Gazette, January 3rd, 1992)

Quite a special update this one, after a fair bit of searching I finally found this local newspaper article that was previous referenced by Richard in Melody Maker. Many thanks to Heartless##6dimensions for helping with the screengrab!


AN EXCITING career is forecast for a Cornish student who has just signed a recording contract with one of the world’s best-known “House” music labels. Richard James (20), an electronics student from Lanner, creates and performs electronic dance music under the name Aphex Twin. The music press are giving his work rave reviews and his first extended play dance record on the Mighty Force label has sold out. Now he has been offered a deal by R and S Records in Belgium, regarded as one of the very best House labels.

Five EPs

“it will mean that this year I will go to Belgium and work with them to produce five EPs, followed by an album.” he said. “My ambition is to further my work with them.” Richard has thousands of pounds’ worth of electronic equipment, including synthesizers. Some of his gear he has made himself.

As well as creating and performing House music, he works as a disc jockey and will be known to regulars of the Shire Horse in St. Ives and the Bowgie Inn at Newquay. In the last few days he has been working at the Warehouse, a large club in Plymouth’s Union-street. Work has also been offered by the Kiss FM radio station in London. Richard who studies electronics at Kingston Polytechnic, is the son of Derek and Lorna James of Pennance-road. Lanner.


Footnote, obviously there is a lot to unpack in this picture so look out for more updates to this article:

Reddit user albion70 points out the synth Richard is sitting in front of appears to be a Roland System 100(model 101).

“I used to go up to london to see my sister and just go to music shops, Id stay in them until I got kicked out. Sometimes Id stay all day in them around denmark street, just playing on synths. All the owners were such miserable fackin bastards and always kicked me out for just playing on them twats. I got kicked out of that little one with the pedals in the window on totenham court road by the bus stop, SO many times… Then one day when i had moved to london, when I was about 25, I went down in the basement in it and they had a roland 100m fully loaded, I think it was around £200, maybe less, I couldn’t believe it I thought it was a joke, I bought it immediately but looked as unexcited as possible, I was soooo nervous, the guy who owned that shop was the worst cunt of the lot and he didnt remember me from when i was little kicking me out of there., I just couldnt belive this tight fisted bugger didnt know what it was but he didnt! hahaaha, I thought this was top karma…then when i went back in there couple weeks later he had a go at me! even better,! he was like you knew that synth was worth more didn’t you! ha i was like tuff fucking titites mate! bye!
so thats how i got my 1st 100m..”

Funny story of how Richard acquired the Roland System 100m the successor to the Roland System 100 he is pictured sitting in front of, from Syrobonkers interview (November 2014)

Reddit user Plunderphucked has sent me their very acute observation of what appears to be a ‘That’s VX90’ cassette tape, to the side of the Roland System 100(model 101) Richard is using. More about this brand of cassette can be found on my article archiving Aphex.

Richard tinkling on the Ivories

“Looks like a Yamaha DX100 to his right, infamous Roland SH-101 in the back and a Technics SL1200 next to it.” – Reddit user synthsucht

Thanks to everyone who keeps sending me this great information!

Published by hyperflake

Aphex Twin fan for approximately 23 years.

One thought on “Richard’s at door of disc Dreamland (The West Briton and Royal Cornish Gazette, January 3rd, 1992)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started